Hevey2012

Blessing of refurbished Hevey Institute

Bishop Michael Smith presided at the official opening of the restored Hevey Institute on Friday 16 November 2012.  The iconic building has served as a centre of learning and home to the Christian Brothers since it opened its doors in the middle of the nineteenth century.

In 1835 the retired Mullingar brewer James Hevey left his extensive property in Ballinea "for the support, maintenance and education of poor children in the parish of Mullingar".  Following his death in 1837, the Hevey Trust was set up to ensure that the benefactor's purpose was fulfilled.   Within 20 years - during which time the area was devastated by the Great Famine - the Hevey Institute was built and it opened its doors on 20 October 1856.    The Christian Brothers had responsibility for the general school while the classical school was run by Fr Thomas Nulty, who later became Bishop of Meath.  The classical school was the ancestor of the present secondary school, Colaiste Mhuire.

The parish of Mullingar is proud of the Hevey Institute.  We are pleased that not just the original building but also the Catholic ethos of the school continues to serve a unique purpose in the community.  Today Bishop Smith oversees the Hevey Trust, working with Fr McMahon and Fr Kilmartin to support the school and maintain its historic link with the parish.  We are delighted to congratulate Mr O'Meara, the Board of Management, the staff, students and all who played a part in the restoration of this wonderful building.

Pictured above are six past pupils of Colaiste Mhuire: from left Fr Kevin Heery, Fr Martin Carley, Fr John Nally (present chaplain), Fr Patrick O'Connor, Fr Brendan Corrigan and Fr Patrick Donnelly. The photo was taken by Daniel Boyce.

Schools in the Mullingar Parish

Youth Groups

Parish News Page

Our Parish Priests

Follow Us On Facebook

Live Webcam from Cathedral